Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
7mm bullet drop >

7mm bullet drop

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

7mm bullet drop

Old 03-17-2010, 01:42 PM
Spike

Default 7mm bullet drop

I am looking at buying a new 7mm for my encore and was wondering how much bullet drop there is from 200 yds to 300 yds and so on. I was wanting to know this because the scope i was looking at is the Nikon BDC and was trying to figure out if i should go with it or just stick with the regular crosshairs. Im pretty new to rifles so any help would be very much appreciated. thanks
Old 03-17-2010, 02:26 PM
Fork Horn

7mm? witch one? 7mm rem magnum, 7mm-08, mauser?
Old 03-20-2010, 01:12 PM
Fork Horn

It all depends on how fast the bullet is going...

All bullets drop at the same amount of time...faster bullets simply travel farther as they drop...

Point blank range for the 7mm RM (3100 ft/s) is just past 300 yards, so you do not need a BDC for shots out to that distance...

My rifle is sighted in at 200 yards and I have the mil-dot scope marked out to 500 yards...furthest shot I have taken is 275 though...
Old 03-24-2010, 10:31 AM
Typical Buck

Originally Posted by Ridge Runner
wrong!!!!!!!!!!!
RR
The bullet, if fired perfectly horizontal will have the same time of flight, regardless of the caliber or how fast the bullet is shot. In this condition, if you dropped a bullet from the same height at the muzzle at the same time the gun was fired, both bullets will hit the ground at the same time.

That being said, when you sight in your rifle, the bullet is not fired perfectly horizontal to the ground. The barrel is angled slightly upward to provide a ballistic trajectory and have the bullet impact the target at the sight plane at the specified zero distance.