Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Kimber 84m Montana 243 >

Kimber 84m Montana 243

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Kimber 84m Montana 243

Old 03-13-2010, 11:47 AM
Fork Horn

Default Kimber 84m Montana 243

I have been holding onto some cash for a few months looking for a good all around rifle for hunting white tails and coyotes and that is alot of fun to take to the range. I came across a deal for new Kimber 84m Montana in 243. It is Stainless with synthetic stock and comes with the Kimber bases for $800. I handled it and have the cash. It is one of those situations that once I handled it, I knew I had to have it. It spoke to me. What do you guys think? I have read alot about the Kimber rifles and have found little negative comments on them, but I wanted to check here before I unload my cash.

I am pretty set on a 243 since I will start my 11 year old son shooting center fires with this rifle purchase. Just want input on the quality, accuracy, and price on this gun.
Old 03-13-2010, 02:34 PM
Nontypical Buck

I've had two Kimbers. The last was a 84M Classic in .308. It shot well and looked great (nice wood). The previous one was a Montana in 7mm-08 I got for my wife. However, some seem to shoot great, some won't shoot for crap. I think Kimber's QC has suffered...at least early on. Some of the WSM's had feeding problems.The Montana's have blind magazines which are not my favorite. The triggers are decent, and they are certainly light and easy shooting. The actions are glass bedded but it's with a slave action...not the actual one. The Montana stocks are quite good but fugly...IMO. That price sounds pretty good. Maybe you'll win the Kimber lottery and get a shooter. Good luck.
Old 03-14-2010, 04:13 AM
Nontypical Buck