Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Gun Stock Dyeing

Old 08-23-2009, 08:00 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Gun Stock Dyeing

I've been out of work for several months now due to a bad back, and I'm having some major surgery on November 2nd. I'm not able to do very many things so I've been going over my guns one at a time.
It all started with refinishing a Remington 700 BDL, I love the gun but I always hated the plastic coated look of the stock. I got my courage up and bought polyurethane stripper and within a couple of days I was down to bare wood. I have to say, Remington uses a clear and shiny polyurethane finish but it sure hid the true beauty of the wood. I'm new to stock finishing so I read up on all the different types of finishes that are available, and after visiting all of my local stores to see what was on the shelves, I decided to try Formsby's Tung oil finish in low gloss. I protected the checkering and sanded all the way down to 500 grit, I even wet it so the grain would raise then sanded it again. I diluted the first two coats 50/50 with mineral spirits, then put about ten more coats. Between each coat I sanded with 0000 steel wool, I let each coat dry a full day between layers. The only thing I can say is WOW!!!! It looks like a custom gun now, The wood is absolutely gorgeous.
I quickly moved on th my second project, Mossberg 500C 20 gauge. I got this gun new in 1971 and I have to admit, it's been a workhorse. I was actually suprised to find real walnut under the camo paint job I did back around 1980. This stock stripped much easier than the 700BDL. I even tried the iron trick on two dents and it worked, after a little sanding you cant even tel the dents were ever there. Sanded, yada yada yada, steel wool-tack cloth-rub oil, repeat repeat repeat. I then touch up blued any bare metal, now I'm just waiting for the receiver to get a layer of Duracoat and this gun will look better than when it was new.