Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Need some help from experienced hunters please >

Need some help from experienced hunters please

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Need some help from experienced hunters please

Old 05-26-2009, 08:30 AM

Default Need some help from experienced hunters please

I'm new to the sport, I actually haven't hunted in years and just recently finished school so now that i have time I'm looking to get back into it. Anyway I'm looking to buy a rifle but am somewhat confused as to my choices. I'm not willing to buy a .22 because I want a gun I can use for many years to come on large game as well as small. So I've decieded (although not withoout any doubts) on a 30-06 winchester x rifle autoloader. Now first off I'm aware the reliablity of autoloaders is questionable so I'd like to know if I'd have good reason to worry about that gun jamming constantly. Secondly I've read the 30-06 has a wide variety of ammuntion thats good for everything from small to big game ( one of the main reasons I'm interested in this calibre) however I 'd like to know the different grains available and which are best for each species. I'm talking everything from bears (for defence, grizzlys are common where i plan to hunt) to deer to rabbits. If anything here dosent make sense i apologize, im a begginer, please bear with me and I'd really appreciate any help.
Old 05-26-2009, 08:59 AM

Default RE: Need some help from experienced hunters please

You need to ask yourself a basic question. What is your primary game animal and what conditions will you be hunting.

If you want one rifle that does it all from Grizzly to rabbits, you'll be dissappointed. It doesn't exist.

IMO the only thing that comes close is a 12ga., bird shot to slugs, it can do it all within itsrange limitations.

The best basic gun battery is a 30-06, 22LR and a 12gauge.
Old 05-26-2009, 09:13 AM
Nontypical Buck