Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 pistol shooting----low >

pistol shooting----low

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

pistol shooting----low

Old 03-21-2009, 06:04 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default pistol shooting----low

anyone happen to know the cause of me shooting a pistol low???

i know grouping in different areas can generally mean certain things...just trying to better myself...

im no expert but i watch my front sight and sight picture and focus on a smooth trigger squeeze until it breaks and recoils....but im pretty good at consistently shooting low...im pretty sure its me and not the guns...im probably missing something im doing while im shooting but i really try to focus on sight picture and trigger control...theres been times my jaw dropped because the shots "felt perfect" and they are a like 6 or so inches low...

my main culprit is kneeling at 15yds and anything at 25yds..25 some are good some are low..kneeling at 25 is usually always low..15 standing im fine and shooting center...anything closer than 15 and im punching holes out of hte center...

i need to know the cause so i can work on the cure....any thoughts?? thanx alot
Old 03-21-2009, 06:39 PM
bigcountry

Default RE: pistol shooting----low

You know I had a bunch of issues shooting pistols. I ended up finding the Army instruction manual on pistol shooting, and there was some great info in it for various issues like you got. Most likely you are gripping the gun right at the shot. Hard to see unless you work with a partner blank load practicing. If that tip falls, on the time there is no round in there, it tells you your problem.

If you are solid during the shot, then might want to look into the way you are using your front post.

Old 03-21-2009, 06:57 PM
Fork Horn

I agree with bigcountry, sounds like dropping of the muzzle.
Dan

Old 03-21-2009, 07:59 PM
Typical Buck