Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

.22 vs all other

Old 12-05-2008, 05:06 PM

Default .22 vs all other

I am not a ballistics expert, buy obviously my 18 year old son is. How far will a .22LR travel accurately? I know there are a lot of variables, but just for the sake of satisfying him. How far will a .243, .308, 7mm, 7.62 travel under the same conditions? If there are some charts on the net somewhere, please forward the link. Also, explain what makes one round travel farther than the other. I guess sometimes it is more believeable when it comes from someone other than your dad!
Old 12-06-2008, 12:34 PM

Default RE: .22 vs all other

100 yds is often considered an acceptable maximum under ideal conditions for the 22LR. That being said, Ive had windy days I couldn't hit a beer can at 75 yrds with any consistancy, and Ive had calm days when I could hit ant hills at 200 yrds lobbing them in there with a S&W 617 (long range sixgunning is so much fun once you get the hang of it, and its not nearly as tough as it sounds, Im no pistol expert by any means). The highpower rifle rounds are another story entirely. Those mentioned, with a trained shooter and under ideal, known conditions are all 1000yd rounds with no struggle. Now at that range they are packing significantly less wallop than at more standard ranges, but lethal none the less. When you get up into the big boomers, cartridges like the 338 Lapua, 408 Chey-Tac, 416 Barret, 300/338 UM and the like, burning b/w 120 and 200 grains of power and pushing 200-300 gr bullets at varmint-class velocities, you can nearly double the above figure. Again, this is all with highly specialized rifles, handloads, and trained, experianced shooters. Alas, a picture is worth a thousand words, you and your son play around with this calculator...

http://www.biggameinfo.com/index.aspx?page=%2fbalcalc.ascx