Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 A Shotgun for the wife, Opinions... >

A Shotgun for the wife, Opinions...

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

A Shotgun for the wife, Opinions...

Old 08-23-2008, 05:17 PM

Default A Shotgun for the wife, Opinions...

Im kinda new to shotguns and well my wife has a thing for shotguns so I decided to buy her one. I plan on going out and buying somthing that is good for woman recoil and smaller (possible youth model) and I have done lots of reading and really dont understand choke's, rifled barrels, slugs and buck shot. I know what they are but I want the best setup for her. She will be using it for Deer hunting upto 100 yards. Anyway I figured a 20ga pump using smoothbore slugs and or 00-000 buckshot with mod choke? whats the effective range on this setup? and other opinions. Thanks all for taking time to read my post and any help you can provide me with.
Old 08-23-2008, 06:26 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: A Shotgun for the wife, Opinions...

For deer hunting up too 100 yards, then go with the 20ga. with a rifled barrel with the cantilever scope mountrail, and put a decent scope on it. That 20ga is deadly on deer, also DO NOT USE BUCKSHOT IN A RIFLED BARREL

Look into the pumps made by Mossberg (model 500) and the Remington (870 express) nither one will cost you alot
Old 08-23-2008, 06:59 PM
Nontypical Buck

Pretty much any 20ga smoothbore will get you to 100 yards, just make sure you get the ammo that it likes best. You can shoot both buckshot, and rifled slugs out a modified choke. Just make sure you get good patterns with that choke, if it doesn't give you the patterns you want just switch them out to something that does.
If you think recoil will be a problem take a look at some of the managed recoil loads out there. Here is a link for one brand http://www.cabelas.com/prod-1/0016694215986a.shtml
Old 08-23-2008, 07:28 PM