Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Wonder if anyone can give some advise >

Wonder if anyone can give some advise

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Wonder if anyone can give some advise

Old 02-21-2003, 04:29 PM

Default Wonder if anyone can give some advise

Just stumbled on the site today. I am totally new to the whole world of hunting. Last year i went with a friend to utah and he had some depredation tags to fill off of his alfalfa fields and that was my first taste, so now i want to start to get my own equipment. I shot a 30-06, 25-06, 270 and the 7mm that week. I liked the 270 and the 7mm the most ( actually cant even tell you why) If I went with a 7mm would that take down just about any game that i would hunt for in the western states? I just dont even have a clue about all of this. uuuuuuuuggggggghhhhhh like learning a new language. Anyway any insight on what i should start with would be great. Also scopes... i am even more clueless in that department. (in the $250 - $400 range)
Old 02-21-2003, 04:59 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Wonder if anyone can give some advise

Welcome bigleague to the board and to the sport of hunting. Before you rush out to buy a rifle ,try and shoot as many different ones you can.See which one feels the best and fits you.You need to decide what action you want. Bolt,lever,semi auto etc. The 7mm Rem Mag will handle everything in North America.As far as a scope I would recommend saving up and buying good glass for the rifle. In scopes like many other things you get what you pay for.The cheaper scopes leave allot to be desired.One rifle in particular I would stay way from is the Remington 710.Savage makes decent rifles that are very accurate at very reasonable prices.Good luck trying your hand at hunting. It is a challenge.
Ruger Redhawk
Old 02-21-2003, 06:07 PM