Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 shotgun vs. rifle >

shotgun vs. rifle

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

shotgun vs. rifle

Old 01-16-2008, 12:29 PM

Default shotgun vs. rifle

I'm new to hunting and was wondering why some hunt deer with shotguns and some rifles. I know rifles are more accurate at greater distances than shot, but why else would someone choose one over the other. are their advantages to one over the other? what kind of rifle or shotgun would anyone recommend for a new hunter? thanks
Old 01-16-2008, 12:43 PM

Default RE: shotgun vs. rifle

because in some areas, only shotguns are allowed, often times because houses are closer together, and rifles bullets are deadly for such a long range. shotgun slugs have a short trajectory compared to rifle bullets
Old 01-16-2008, 12:57 PM
Nontypical Buck

Newfield got it right. Check your state and county regulations and see if they are legal first.

Old 01-17-2008, 08:53 AM
DM

Just get a combo gun, and then you will have it covered either way... lol

DM
Old 01-17-2008, 11:54 AM

so no other advantages other than distance for the rifle. does it really just come down to preference then? also if you do shoot a shotgun why a slug over shot? Do you use slugs for turkey as well?
Old 01-17-2008, 12:31 PM
Fork Horn

Slugs have a much greater range than buck shot a little over 100 yards for me with open sights (with a rest), and again, it is a matter of legality. In Iowa you must use a single projectile for deer. I've read that 40 yards is about tops with shot. Some guys with sabot slugs, scopes, and such, can take deer at 200 yards. A slug is lethal until it is slowed down by hitting something.