Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 to scope or not to scope 336A >

to scope or not to scope 336A

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

to scope or not to scope 336A

Old 11-30-2007, 01:34 PM
  #1  
Typical Buck
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: SE Wisc
Posts: 677
Default to scope or not to scope 336A

hunting season has ended here, but this year i noticed something. Normally i use my Marlin 336 when on a drive or hunting in the woods (no scope). I use my 7mm-8 or 30.06 bolt action scoped rifles when sitting or for longer range field hunting.

one morning while on a hunt, i grabbed the 336, i came out of a woods edge and had a shot at a deer about 150 yards away in a field. I didn't shoot because i wasn't sure i could take him cleanly with iron sights at that range. My thought was to scope my 336 with a 2x lightweight scope from Leupold that i already purchased.

my question is, i want to keep this a woods gun but also need to be able to line up a scoped shot for just this scenerio. What do i do? i want iron sights and a scope.... I tried see thru rings but couldn't get the gun to shot accurate. Maybe i bought the wrong rings or have no idea what i am doing. Any one care to give me some ideas?
semi is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 01:36 PM
  #2  
Giant Nontypical
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location:
Posts: 6,471
Default RE: to scope or not to scope 336A

I would try a aimpoint dot site if I owned one
oldelkhunter is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 01:51 PM
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Blissfield MI USA
Posts: 5,293
Default RE: to scope or not to scope 336A

I honestly don't see where a 2X scope is going to do you much better at 150 yards. At least not for me it wouldn't.

I put scopes on most every gun I own, but in my honest opinion for you I might suggest just practicing more with the open sights. You might be surprised what you can hit if you try it. Maybe look at some better open sights?

That being said, if it were my gun it would have a decent lower powered variable like a 1.5 or 1.75 on the low end and around 4 power on the top end. A nice compact one with plenty of field of view to it.

Realistically if you put a scope on and had a deer come in real close while on stand you could darn near point and shoot and kill it with a 30-30. Try that a bit one some close up targets and you might be amazed at well you can do.

Paul
Paul L Mohr is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 02:19 PM
  #4  
FA
Fork Horn
 
FA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fingerlakes Region of New York State
Posts: 173
Default RE: to scope or not to scope 336A

On my 336, I use a 2-7x32 which allows me to shoot at 30yds or 200 yards with accuracy. I agree, a 2x scope won't do you much good at 150 yds, but with a 2-7, you have the best of both worlds. You live in Wisconcsin and thats pretty much the same type of terrain I hunt and this combination works great. Another combination would be QR rings with XS ghost sight. I use this on my 1895G for bear and I can remove the scope in seconds and when I reinstall it, it will shoot within an inch before I took it off. The see-thu mounts you tried were probably ok but you have to raise your head so high to see through them you loose some stability. Try a compact scope, I think you will like it.
FA is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 02:26 PM
  #5  
Dominant Buck
 
Rebel Hog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: WC FL
Posts: 26,323
Default RE: to scope or not to scope 336A

Well, back in 1957 I was shooting the Garand @ 1000 yd's with peep sight, but as the years went by, I needed all the help I could get!Now everything has to be scoped. I am far sighted,and if I don't use my glasses, I cant see the adjustments on the scope!
Rebel Hog is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 02:42 PM
  #6  
FA
Fork Horn
 
FA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fingerlakes Region of New York State
Posts: 173
Default RE: to scope or not to scope 336A

GEEZ REBEL, who gave you my eyes?
FA is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 03:03 PM
  #7  
Nontypical Buck
 
stalkingbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: central Ky
Posts: 2,867
Default RE: to scope or not to scope 336A

Once you mount that 2x leupold scope LOW over bore you'll forget that it even HAS any open sights. In fact,you'll be able to actually aim and shoot QUICKER using that scope mounted as low as you can get it. WHATEVER you do,DON'T mount it using "see-thru" mounts or rings! They put the scope entirely too high for proper aiming.
stalkingbear is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 04:08 PM
  #8  
Nontypical Buck
 
RugerM77.270's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Southeast Alabama
Posts: 1,625
Default RE: to scope or not to scope 336A

I would put the 2x on it since you already have it.

OR

I had the same problem so I went to Wal-Mart and got some weaver scope mounts that have a see through desind so I can look under the scope and shoot with the iron sights. Those mounts have claimed the life of many many armadillos. My 30-30 will blow them kill in half.
RugerM77.270 is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 04:32 PM
  #9  
Typical Buck
 
Catus Magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NC
Posts: 501
Default RE: to scope or not to scope 336A

scope it... a 336 with a low-power, low-mounted scope is a great whitetail rifle.
Catus Magnus is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 05:38 PM
  #10  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location:
Posts: 1,447
Default RE: to scope or not to scope 336A

go with millettsee thrurings.. a danner dusk to dawn 1.5-4 x32 scope and dont look back
heeze gutshot shortee is offline  

Quick Reply: to scope or not to scope 336A


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.