Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Different Ammo shoots alot differently? >

Different Ammo shoots alot differently?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Different Ammo shoots alot differently?

Old 11-25-2007, 08:46 PM
Spike

Default Different Ammo shoots alot differently?

Today I was out siting my scope in for my mossberg 835 . I have a fully rifled barrel on it. I started shooting Brennekes to sight my scope in since they are cheap slugs. Once I got it sighted in I shot some leftover remington sluggers. I had bought a case of Remingtons new copper sabot slugs. I decided just to shoot one of these since they were so expensive. I figured I would use these for the coming deer season. I shot one and completley missed the target ( I was shooting a trash barrel with a target on it at 75 yards. ) So i figured I f'd something up so i reloaded one shot again and completley missed the target. At this point I stopped figured I maybe had wrong ammo. It was ammo for a fully rifled 12 gauge barrel which is what I have. Why would this shoot so completley different?
Old 11-25-2007, 09:21 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Different Ammo shoots alot differently?

Different grain weight bullets will shoot differently, different brands of the same grain weight willshoot differently, all of which goes double with shotguns. Change the bullet construction entirely from foster slugs to sabots and you change severalvariables all at once- there's no way they could shoot to the same spot.
Old 11-26-2007, 02:40 AM