Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Wandering Zero on Savage 111 .30-06 >

Wandering Zero on Savage 111 .30-06

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Wandering Zero on Savage 111 .30-06

Old 09-08-2007, 09:38 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Wandering Zero on Savage 111 .30-06

Boy it's been a long time since I posted anything here, but it's good to be back.

Just got myself a brand new Savage 110 30-06 walnut/blue w/ accutrigger cheap because there is a ding on the stock from handling in the store as a display model. Well, to be honest, it was a couple months ago that i got it but I just got a chance to take it out and put some rounds thru it. (I'm an OTR truck driver with a wife and 2 yound kids and the time I get at home is precious and range time is usually at the bottom of the list). Bought this rifle to take up to Minnesota and hunt deer with my brother. Anyway, I got two boxes of ammo (no time to handload either [:@]), both Federal Fusion, one in 150gr and the other 165gr, to see which my rifle would like better. Anyway, my rifle shoots great for the first 2 shots off a completely cold barrel, always less than 1.5MOA, but after that the zero starts to wander down and right so by the 5th shot the zero is (usually) 1.5 inches lower and 3 inches right of the cold barrel zero. I know this can happen when the barrel touches the stock, but the barrel is freefloated almost to the barrel nut. The stock is also pillar bedded as all Savages are, so I'm not sure why the zero gets squirrely after a couple shots. For referance, I was shooting off a bipod with the buttstock bedded into sandbags on a stable shooting bench.