Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Remington 742 ? >

Remington 742 ?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Remington 742 ?

Old 09-08-2007, 06:33 PM
Fork Horn

Default Remington 742 ?

I have a remington 742 woodsmaster 30-06 in good shape and i have some questions. I been talking to some people and they tell me all it is , is a pie plate gun is this true? I use to shoot and i could put 6 shots in a quater at 75 yards. My biggest problem is i dont like semi auto the gun always chams , i need somethings i can count on. Should i dump the gun or is there a fix for it i have it all apart now and going to clean it but what would make it do this? Whats the pros and cons of this gun should iget rid of it an get a nice bolt gun?
Old 09-08-2007, 09:01 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Remington 742 ?

should iget rid of it an get a nice bolt gun?
Yes. Then you'll never have to worry (practically never anyway) about function. Those remington pumps are decent functioning rifles too.I'd go with the bolt though for a single all around rifle.
Old 09-08-2007, 09:16 PM
Giant Nontypical

buck....I think Remington sold 46 Billion of those guns, seems all of my buddies either own one or have owned one in 30-06...Some group quite well and some don't...Those that don't are worn out, literally one of them has metal shavings in the chamber after shooting....

They can be very accurate, one of my buddies has one that will group 125 Ballistic tip handloads as well as I can hold....Funny thing is, they all own one, and have had it for years, only one ever uses his anymore, and his is his "backup gun"....Four of these guys now own Remington 700s in .243...

Old 09-08-2007, 10:37 PM
Fork Horn