Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 how clean is clean? >

how clean is clean?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

how clean is clean?

Old 06-23-2007, 07:20 PM
Typical Buck

Default how clean is clean?

I am cleaning my new rifle and I can't get the patches to come out white.There is still some grey streaks on them. I know I am new to rifles and I still have alot to learn.This is just worlds different from my rimfires or shotguns. How clean is clean?

I have made several passes with my cleaning kit. Everytime I get the same results. It doesn't seem to matter what I do. I put solvent on and let it sit for an hour or I run the brush through right away,it doesn't make a difference. Helpme please.

[/align]
Old 06-23-2007, 07:28 PM

Default RE: how clean is clean?

This may sound like a dumb and obvious question, but does your solvent leave color on the patch before you ever run it?

I've made simpler mistakes in my days haha.
Old 06-23-2007, 07:33 PM
Typical Buck

[/align]yes but it is a light grey. What I am talking about is charcole grey streaks and the rest of the patch is white.
Old 06-23-2007, 11:51 PM
Nontypical Buck

Once I think the gun is clean, I always pull my bolt out and look down the barrel. If you cant see anything in there then run a lightly oiled patch and put'er away.
Old 06-24-2007, 08:59 AM
Giant Nontypical