Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Odd Group with Kimber 338, any opinions? >

Odd Group with Kimber 338, any opinions?

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Odd Group with Kimber 338, any opinions?

Old 01-01-2007, 06:58 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Odd Group with Kimber 338, any opinions?

So I finished what I would consider the break in of my new Kimber 8400 in 338 win mag.. I started shooting three and five shot groups of several different factory bullets and few handloads..

Here is a picture of a five shot group of 225 grain Triple Shock X Bullets, Federal Premium Ammo... 100 yards or just a hair under.

Looks like my first shot was high then they slung left but touching, then they came back to center but touching.. I decided to adjust the scope a little down and that's the 6th shot you see, but once again it went left..

Anyone have any suggestions or ever seen anything like this?

Oh, bbl is free floated with no contact, bbl is squeeky clean and it has 3lb trigger.

Thanks

Old 01-01-2007, 07:36 PM

Default RE: Odd Group with Kimber 338, any opinions?

I would guess its abedding problemor your scope is moving in its mounts or the scope itself is loosing it.
Old 01-01-2007, 08:22 PM

take you scope off first and make sure all the screws holding the bases down are tight, put the rings on the bases and make sure the rings are clamped on tightly the mount the scope again and be sure that the screws holing the scope in place are tight... you groups look as if the bases are slightly loose JMHO.

Old 01-01-2007, 08:36 PM
Nontypical Buck

guys, since it is a new gun could it possibly be an inconsistent cheek weld.
the scope mount is most likely but could an differnt weld be the culprit

Old 01-01-2007, 08:48 PM

there's also always the flinch...
Old 01-01-2007, 08:59 PM
Nontypical Buck