Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

lookin for advise in ky

Old 11-04-2006, 07:03 PM

Default lookin for advise in ky

I've been hunting whitetail for about 11 yrs. The only rifle i've used is a 30-30 win. Always been in thick brush. i've got a new spot where i could have chance a shot out to 500 yds or so,if he's big enough for the chance, and my 30-30 win. with open sights just isn't gonna cut it, even thought i've only ever had to track one deer i hit with it, she was only about 175 yds away. i'm looking for a new rifle anyway. my final choices are down to 270 wsm, 280 rem, & 6.5x55 swd. i've never shot a one of these. i know these aren't the cheapest of choices. could anyone shed some more light on ky hunting with these cals.? or at least an opinion on a brush/med-long gun.
Old 11-04-2006, 07:09 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: lookin for advise in ky

I would go with the 280. Brutalattack I give, "UNCLE". Head.
Old 11-04-2006, 07:16 PM
Fork Horn

i know this was not an option you mentioned but in case you didnt think of it if it were me i would also think about a .308 i believe it would be cheaper to shoot than the 3 you mentioned and would preform just as well if not better at that distance
Old 11-04-2006, 07:54 PM

i've thought about the .308, but having a rifle that is zeroed at say 200 yds, wouldn't one of my choices have a flatter trajectory to shoot at say, something 75 yds or 300 yds and make my aiming a little easier. correct me if i'm wrong, i don't have a whole lot of experience with this.
Old 11-04-2006, 07:55 PM
Nontypical Buck

the 6.5X55 swede all the way the recoil is great you don't get beatup from both ends. rugger andCZ makes them I would pick theCZ it has a 24 for inch barrel the ruger barrel is 22 inchs.
just my 2 cents
Old 11-04-2006, 07:59 PM