Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Rifle advice. >

Rifle advice.

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Rifle advice.

Old 12-12-2005, 08:52 AM
Typical Buck

Default Rifle advice.

I'm kinda new to all of this so please bear with me. I currently own a 30-30 and a .308 which I find quite suitable for deer. However, I'm looking for a overall stout rifle for bear, elk, etc... that I can hunt any big game with. Any suggestions, pro's or con's to help me start out making this decision? Also, I'm not framiliar with any calibers other than those above and the 30 - 06. Any caliber information would be helpful. Please don't hesitate to debate brand, caliber, or action. The more you tell the better decision I can start to make.
Thanks
Old 12-12-2005, 09:05 AM
DM

Default RE: Rifle advice.

You already have it! 180 grain Nosler partitions in a 308 Win. will flatten any blk bear or elk, no problem! Just keep your ranges reasonable and you won't have any problems at all.

Spend your money on "ammo", and a better scope, if you don't already have a top of the line model now. Then practice, practice, and practice some more!

Drilling Man
Old 12-12-2005, 09:45 AM
Typical Buck

Reasonable as in within 200 yards?
Old 12-12-2005, 10:07 AM
Giant Nontypical