Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Questions on Savage Model 11 >

Questions on Savage Model 11

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Questions on Savage Model 11

Old 09-19-2005, 02:13 PM

Default Questions on Savage Model 11

Well, I am new to bolt action rifles, and started out with a used one. I saw it at a Gander Mountain on the used gun rack, and it just seemed to call to me. It's chambered in .223 Remington, with the standard sporter contour barrel. I have dicided it is an older model, since it doesn't have the Accu-Trigger. I have put 60 rounds through it so far and it seems to be very accurite, as I had several sets of two shots in the same hole.

So, now on to the questions.

If you look at the stats for the current 11G on Savage's website, it says that the mag capacity is four rounds. Mine seemed to handle five rounds okay though. So, question number one is, could it be that the older model I have has a higher capacity mag? And if it is in fact a four-rounder, it shouldn't load five at all right? Will it hurt it to do so? It functioned okay, chambered the rounds just fine.

Separate from that, my rifle seemed to jam up the third round every once in a while. Perhaps one mag out of four, the second or third round would hang up as if hitting metal in the front of the reciever. Trying a few more times to chamber it without doing anything but moving the bolt failed, and I removed the round and carefully looked at the jacketed hollow point. I saw no marks, scapes or dents to indicate that the bullet itself was hitting anything. I placed the round back in the top of the mag, and it would not chamber still. I set it aside, and the nexxt round went in just fine. Perhaps five minutes later I tried the faulty round again, and it worked just fine. Does anyone have an explaination for this?