Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 POI changed? >

POI changed?

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

POI changed?

Old 09-10-2005, 12:47 AM
  #1  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bennettsville, SC
Posts: 542
Default POI changed?

Last year I set my scope with 140gr. Winchester AccuBonds. Over the summer I shot the rest of the box that I set my scope with.

I bought a new box yesterday and went out to shoot a little since our season is less than a week away.

The bullets from this box were hitting about an 1/2 of inch low and an inch to the left when compared tothe ones in the other box. They still grouped very well, just POI wasn't the same. Has anyone ever had this happen?

The scope hasn't moved b/c I also shot a few regular 130gr. Power Points that I keep with me for yotes. These still hit in the same place as they did last year.
StrutnBPS is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 03:02 AM
  #2  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Western Nebraska
Posts: 3,391
Default RE: POI changed?

Many guns I've owned have done that. some more than others and it's why we sight them in every year.

One gun I had that didn't do that was a Remington 760 (two piece stock)
Vapodog is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 06:53 AM
  #3  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: west central wi USA
Posts: 2,105
Default RE: POI changed?

It's common enough that you should check your rifle every year. Slight variations in componants, moisture levels in the gunstock, any number of variables cause it to happen.
Wingbone is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 08:48 AM
  #4  
Giant Nontypical
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: fort mcmurray alberta canada
Posts: 5,667
Default RE: POI changed?

Since the different poi resulted from a new box of ammunition,it is quite possible that the new box is from a different lot#.If it is from a different lot#,a slight change in poi is quite normal.That is why it is advisable to buy several boxes of the same lot# when you buy ammunition.The lot# is usually stamped on the end flap of each box.
stubblejumper is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 12:57 PM
  #5  
bigcountry
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default RE: POI changed?

Happens when I use cheap scopes like tasco or the cheaper simmons and bushnells. Thats the reason I got away from them. Never have a problem withmy leupolds or bushnell elites. But I handload everything, so it may be the diferent lot of ammo.
 
Old 09-10-2005, 01:34 PM
  #6  
Giant Nontypical
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: fort mcmurray alberta canada
Posts: 5,667
Default RE: POI changed?

Everyone seems to be ignoring this statement made in the original post.

The scope hasn't moved b/c I also shot a few regular 130gr. Power Points that I keep with me for yotes. These still hit in the same place as they did last year.


If the poi has not changed at all for one load,the difference has to be the other load.Bedding or scope problems would effect both loads.
stubblejumper is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 03:14 PM
  #7  
Typical Buck
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 564
Default RE: POI changed?

its the lot # of the ammo, it happens alot with rimfires also
gopher slayer is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 03:56 PM
  #8  
bigcountry
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default RE: POI changed?

ORIGINAL: stubblejumper

Everyone seems to be ignoring this statement made in the original post.

The scope hasn't moved b/c I also shot a few regular 130gr. Power Points that I keep with me for yotes. These still hit in the same place as they did last year.


If the poi has not changed at all for one load,the difference has to be the other load.Bedding or scope problems would effect both loads.
Your right, I was just scanning.
 
Old 09-10-2005, 07:30 PM
  #9  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Western Nebraska
Posts: 3,391
Default RE: POI changed?

ORIGINAL: bigcountry

Happens when I use cheap scopes like tasco or the cheaper simmons and bushnells. Thats the reason I got away from them. Never have a problem withmy leupolds or bushnell elites. But I handload everything, so it may be the diferent lot of ammo.
Hey guys, I was wondering what you do with the extra valve grinding compound that Leupold sends out with their scopes.....you know the stuff....the stuff they supply so that if the clarity isn't what you want you can polish a little more on your own?????

Ever use it to lap your bolt lugs?
Vapodog is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 07:32 PM
  #10  
bigcountry
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default RE: POI changed?

Havne't bought a new one in 3 years but no compound with it. Usually the clearest out there. And I have seen em all.
 

Quick Reply: POI changed?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.