Community
Freshwater Fishing Discussion of all aspects of freshwater fishing.

BAITS PLEASE!!!

Old 03-21-2005, 05:16 PM

Default BAITS PLEASE!!!

I am just starting out as a channelcatfisherman. If anyone has any tips on catfish baits or homemade catfish bait recipies, it would be GREATLY APPRECIATED!

Old 03-24-2005, 04:14 PM

Default RE: BAITS PLEASE!!!

When do catfish start biting?
Old 03-24-2005, 04:14 PM
Fork Horn

caught most of my channel cat on yo-yo's baited with shiners. on the lake here, they use hot dogs, ivory soap, and blood bait on trotlines. real fun is catapa worms fished on light tackle. cast, sit back, and enjoy the time off from work!
Old 03-24-2005, 04:17 PM

What's a shiner and whwt's a yo-yo?Newbie here...
Old 03-24-2005, 04:24 PM
Fork Horn

shiner=minnow i use the 2-3 inch size

yo-yo=metel take up reel that is set to take up slack line when fish hits. hang from overhead limbs or cross sticks nailed to stumps. sold by the dozen at most fishing or bait shops, or Wally-World
Old 03-24-2005, 04:43 PM

I have my best luck for channels closer to summer fishing after dark. For smaller cats chicken livers work great. A foam container left in the sun for a day seasons them about right. They really stink (rotten meat ) but work excellent. For larger fish fresh dead bait fished on bottom works good. The smaller ones taste better but the big ones sure can pull.

Good Luck
Old 03-26-2005, 01:46 PM
Dominant Buck