Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Fishing Forum > Freshwater Fishing
 need ice fishing tips >

need ice fishing tips

Community
Freshwater Fishing Discussion of all aspects of freshwater fishing.

need ice fishing tips

Old 12-28-2005, 12:08 PM
Typical Buck

Default need ice fishing tips

Me and my pal and my girlare taking up ice fishing this year. I am new to it and was just curious what I should expect. We have 4 tip ups and a hand auger so far. What else do we need. the overflows we will fish have Northern Pike in them somewhere which is what I am interested in. Anyway where will they be located, what lb. test do I need and any other tips?

Thanks
Jim

Oh yea we dont have a shelter yet, I think we will just build a fire on shore and drink beerswhat yall think
Old 12-28-2005, 06:28 PM

Default RE: need ice fishing tips

Aight theres gonna be alot on line for tipups..I been using 6lb fireline on 2 frabill 10" thermals but alota people use this heavey like braided stuff wich is a good idea. a good thing to do, If your shallow drill a hole clear it out lay down look at bottom and if theres weeds try it out
Old 12-29-2005, 10:52 AM

Pike can be anywhere in the water. A good place to start is if you can find a drop off near some form of cover (weeds or rocks). Drill holes at top, half way down & bottom. Fish at or near bottom or just under the ice. Large dead baits( herring, creak chub ect.) seem to produce best. Fish on a quick strike rig below your tip-up.
I have heard of some having good luck using hotdogs for bait. I am going to give it a try this winter when fishing is slow. Figure it can't hurt to try.

Good Luck
Old 12-30-2005, 09:12 AM
Nontypical Buck