Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Firearm Review Forum
 Tough but small, I need a lighter gun >

Tough but small, I need a lighter gun

Community
Firearm Review Forum Rifles, shotguns, blackpowder, pistols, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new firearms here.

Tough but small, I need a lighter gun

Old 10-23-2008, 12:14 PM

Default Tough but small, I need a lighter gun

I am just beginning to get into hunting and am about to purchase my first deer rifle. I am a smaller woman and am considering the savage youth model 11 243. Any thoughts about this gun and how it's performing? Other recommendations?
Old 10-23-2008, 12:49 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Tough but small, I need a lighter gun

Nothing at all wrong with that option. I might consider a 7mm-08 for a little more versatility with little more recoil. I might also suggest you check out all of the smaller guns you can find such as Remington andRuger. Just pick the one that fits you best. It is going to be yours so that is really all that matters. Good Luck!!!!
Old 10-23-2008, 01:29 PM
Nontypical Buck

Savage is great but stick w/ theyre wood stocks cause theyre plastic stocks are horrible. Accutrigger and accuracy is the seller w/ savage. I would go w/ a 7-08 aswell. I have a 7-08 rem.700 mt rifle that weighs about 7 lbs w/ the scope and recoil is not bad at all.
Old 10-23-2008, 01:51 PM
Typical Buck

Ruger Compact in 7mm08..
Old 10-23-2008, 03:15 PM
Nontypical Buck

Ruger Compact is a good choice... that's one of my wife's favorites. If you want to plunk down more cash, the Kimber Montana is very light weight, and the Kimber Classic (with wood stock) is nice and quite light. The Browning A-Bolt Micro Hunter is also nice. Happy hunting.
Old 10-23-2008, 05:32 PM
Fork Horn

The Savage model 11 in a 243 good gun that is what my wife started out with. But she now uses a Sako in a 25-06 and she loves it.
Old 10-23-2008, 08:39 PM
Typical Buck