Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
 What is a self cocking crossbow? >

What is a self cocking crossbow?

Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

What is a self cocking crossbow?

Old 09-21-2008, 10:21 AM

Default What is a self cocking crossbow?

I am a newbie, so please try not to use any technical terms.
Are they any easier to cock than a normal bow?

Many thanks

James

Old 09-21-2008, 10:38 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: What is a self cocking crossbow?

I only know of two of them. The first would be a Bnett Commando I had a long time ago, which would be considered an under powered dinosauer by todays standards, and I think the Swiss TwinBow II, but have never handled or shot one, way too high priced for me.

You "broke" the commando open like a single bbl shotgun and two fingers pulled the string back for you. Both it and the TwinBow had/have very short power strokes.

How about it guys? Any more of them out there?
Old 09-21-2008, 04:52 PM
Fork Horn

It's a crossbow...that if left on a table long enough...it will cock itself!

Actaully...it's a misrepresentation or misspoken term for a crossbow that with a motion like a breakdown shot gun, when folded at the hinge, a pair of fingers will retract the string into the trigger box.

As awsh says, the Twinbow, the old Barnett Commando and a few of the "pistol" (can be seen on e-bay) type crossbows have this feature.

As simple as Barnett made it 30 years or so ago...I'm surprised that only Twinbow has designed it into their crossbow.

Mike
Old 09-21-2008, 10:13 PM
Super Moderator

Man! I have a barnett at home (I'm away at school) wish I could post the picture. But thats the only two I am aware of. That Barnett was my first crossbow, I loved it. But as said above, no where near modern standards.
Old 09-22-2008, 03:21 AM

Sorry, but I still don't understand how it works.