Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
 New Xbow Hunter needs help >

New Xbow Hunter needs help

Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

New Xbow Hunter needs help

Old 08-11-2008, 07:04 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default New Xbow Hunter needs help

I am just getting intohunting with a xbow. I researched the subject and ended up buying a Ten Point GT-Curve. I guess the help I need is in the bolts and broadheads. Is there a place or info that wouldhelp me in getting ready for the field by selecting the right bolt and broadhead. Somethingon the pros and cons on aluminum vs. carbon bolts.

Also somethingon the art of shooting the xbow. Any good books, magazines or articles on line would help.

Thanks and I am havingfun reviewing the threads on this site. Sure is a lot of good info to go through.
Old 08-11-2008, 08:09 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: New Xbow Hunter needs help

You can use carbons or aluminums out of that bow. I am still a fan of the 2219 and the 100 grain spitfires. They are a good combo and the Spits make a nasty hole. You could go with a 2216 from that bow if you wanted to as well, but you will have less KE.

I would check out Horizontal Bowhunter magazine. That is the official magazine of the American Crossbow Federation.

Randy
Old 08-11-2008, 12:48 PM
Nontypical Buck

Randy should I worry about the difference between the 100gr. and the 125gr. weights? The practise tips that came with the GT-Curve are 125gr. weights. I would like to just go with the 125gr. broadheads. What do you think?
Old 08-11-2008, 02:34 PM
Nontypical Buck