Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
 Newbie a few Questions.... >

Newbie a few Questions....

Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

Newbie a few Questions....

Old 12-24-2007, 11:29 AM

Default Newbie a few Questions....

Hi guys,

Im new to my interest in Crossbows. Can you guys answer a few questions?

1.I want an all around crossbow... not the most powerful Accuracy is really important. What do you recommend for a 46 yr old guy with hot interest and moderate budget.

2. How tough is a crossbow to cock. Put another way - how long before you can fire again - as in target shooting. Theres a lot of weight here to pull back. How many target groups do you guys like to fire in an afternoon before the arms have had it?

3. What kind of accuracy can a good shot get at say, 25, 50 and 100 yards respectively. Im talking target only .

4. Whats a fairly "stable" velocity to fly bolts at? Bullets, even hot compound bows seem to have a velocity sweet spot. Does such a thing exist in Crossbows?

5. How much do Bolts cost?

Thanks guys!!!!

Pete

Old 12-24-2007, 12:05 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Newbie a few Questions....

Welcome to the forum! I'm sure you will get alot of opinions here on your questions, here's mine:
1. Excal Phoenix [similar new stuff to be available soon, untested yet]
2. Most of us use rope cockers which cut effort in half, can shoot a Phoenix all day.
3. Poker chips to 40 yds
4. Don't know, but get good accuracy w/ two bows from 290-330 fps
5. I favor 431 gr GT L II's at $5.75 @
Old 12-24-2007, 12:30 PM
Nontypical Buck

Welcome 1st of all....
I shoot the Excal Vortex(recurve) and a 10point Pro Fusion(compound).
Rope cocker buy far faster then crank..
20-30-40-50yrds I dont shoot the same spot(hate slamming arrows).
270-315 fps is good enough for most Big game......