Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

'nother newbie

Old 07-18-2007, 10:01 PM

Default 'nother newbie

Hi guys. Some of you may know me from the boards, but this is my new bowhunting base. If you don't know, I am disabled following many, many surgeries required for a spinal birth defect that had left me paralyzed for much of my childhood and a terrible vehicle accident in 2004. I had trauma from my head to my crotch. Again, all the king horses and all the kings men put ol Davey Dumpty together again.

I was a former pro staff shooter for the #2 selling bow company...the split limb guys. I had a Mathews made special for me, but just couldn't shoot it at a point that I could ethically hunt with it. Fortunately the same year my state passed a law for handicapped hunters to use a CB. SO, this year, for the first time ever, I will be in the woods with a horizontal bow.
Will have to hunt from the ground.

Here is my set up.

Horton Hunter 200lb bow with scope, quiver, crank, pull cocking aid, etc.
Carbon 20" bolts that most likely will be tipped with Magnus Stingers or NAP shockwaves.
My blind is a Eastman Outdoors. Hub style looks like a tent w/hubs in the ends. The entire ends are shooting windows. It too has never been in the woods.

????'s:
What is the effective range of my setup on whitetails....assuming I am shooting well, what range is ethical from the penetation standpoint?

Is there any advantage/disadvantage of shooting a Fixed vs Mechanical from a CB?

How are crossbows viewed where you live?

If you were a DieHard Bowhunter and HAD to go this route, is the thrill still there and to the extent it was the vertical bow?

Thanks So Much for making me welcome in this new endeavor, one I am feeling very sort of mixed emotions about anyway.

Dave in WV
Old 07-18-2007, 11:28 PM

Default RE: 'nother newbie