Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
 Cocked in Bowblind ? >

Cocked in Bowblind ?

Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

Cocked in Bowblind ?

Old 06-24-2007, 03:27 AM

Default Cocked in Bowblind ?

I am new to crossbow hunting, after having years of fun shooting/hunting compound. I had to stop owing to a neck injury.

I am forutnate to live in South Africa, where hunting is great, but info on crosbows a bit scarce. I recently bought a Stryker, that really blows my mind, but no where on in the manual does it say it is safe to have it cocked for a few hours while waiting for something to come close to the blind ??

So waht is the right thing to do ??
Old 06-24-2007, 06:21 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Cocked in Bowblind ?

Stuck in a a blind in Africa.. You poor fellow..

I don't know about the striker, but my excalibur is no stranger to 8-10 hours runs fully drawn. Have you sent them an email?
Old 06-24-2007, 07:54 AM
Nontypical Buck

Get an Excal for back-up, lol. They all can stay cocked all day.
Old 06-24-2007, 08:13 AM
Nontypical Buck

I had my Parker for five hours the other day,doing a lot of varmit
hunting now,it doesnt seem to effect the xbow,go for it!
Old 06-24-2007, 08:38 AM
Typical Buck

ORIGINAL: awshucks

Get an Excal for back-up, lol. They all can stay cocked all day.

Old 06-24-2007, 09:56 PM

I think this calls for a test from Dan! Has anyone ever target practiced with there CB by cocking it and leaving it cocked and taking a shot every say six hours or so, and then re-cocking it and leaving it cocked for another six hours? Could only get maybe three shots off in a day but would be a good test to see if it effects accuracy. Are you willing Dan, or have you already done this one?
Old 06-25-2007, 07:55 AM
Giant Nontypical