Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
 anyone ever tried this? >

anyone ever tried this?

Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

anyone ever tried this?

Old 05-13-2007, 05:24 PM
KLS
Fork Horn

Default anyone ever tried this?

I'm fairly new to crossbows so maybe they already make something like this(although I havent seen one yet)or maybe its been tried and just doesnt work... but I was shooting my brothers horton once again today andcame to the conclusionthat the arrow retaining system leaves a little to be desired, especially if your not still hunting with the crossbow,and I've noticed that most crossbaows have the same basic retaining system...
alot of my bowhunting involves stalking, especially small game and having the arrow a little more stabil while walking would be nice, so I was thinking why not mount something like a whisker biscuit arrow rest at the front of the crossbow between the limbs to add a little more stabilization to the arrow and keep it from bouncing around, moving, and slidingforward

anyone tried this and does it work?
Old 05-13-2007, 06:52 PM
Dnk
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: anyone ever tried this?

KLS, do you feel that the bow was not accurate enough? How big is the grouping and were you using a scope?
I haven't tried to make my Excals more accurate because I don't think it can be made much more accurate. I would certainly be interested to see any results of your efforts though!
Old 05-13-2007, 07:06 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: Dnk

KLS, do you feel that the bow was not accurate enough? How big is the grouping and were you using a scope?
I haven't tried to make my Excals more accurate because I don't think it can be made much more accurate. I would certainly be interested to see any results of your efforts though!