Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
 new to crossbows need help >

new to crossbows need help

Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

new to crossbows need help

Old 09-23-2006, 07:26 PM

Default new to crossbows need help

Im new to crossbows. i just picked up a HD175 and sighted it in at the shop, went home and was grouping field tips at 30 in the size of a half dollar. I was grinning ear to ear, even pulled the wife out and she could do the same. she has no experience with any wheapon. put on field tips and was disgusted. i was taking up the whole target, no consistency at all, the same arrows were hitting in a different spot every time. tried a different brand broadhead with the same results, and neither brand was cheap. these were the high dollar tips. ive read some of the earlier post here and noticed im using the right grain (100). any help?
Old 09-23-2006, 07:43 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: new to crossbows need help

Watch it guys.... Riggsb could be a plant sent here to get you kids arguing over which B-Head is best and to take your minds off the task at hand which is killing deer. Slick Tricks, Rockets, even Wasps (Don)are all gonna get votes. Knapped flint works best for me. Actually Brian your gonna get lots of good advice about many B-Heads. The only problem is you gotta be wealthy to try them all. Good luck and I am sure you will be hitting with B-Heads as well as feild points before you know it. I am just kidding guys and I DO NOT want a turn in the Barrel >>>>>>Whack!
Old 09-23-2006, 07:44 PM