Community
Camp Cooking and Game Processing Trade recipes and other tricks of the trade for cooking wild game.

Butchering tools

Old 12-07-2010, 05:08 PM
Spike

Default Butchering tools

I've been butchering for four years now, and can't honestly say I'm good at it. I get the job done, but it takes a lot of time and is less than perfect. I like it, because I can soak and marinate all of my meat before I freeze it, and I can vacuum seal it. I also like it because I can afford to do more deer this way, and stock up. I can look at the meat I have and decide on the fly if I want chops or filets, etc... I don't like it because it takes a lot of time, and sometimes I bleed. All I'm using right now is knives, and I'm de-boning everything. I'm not sacrificing flavor at all, its actually better with me processing it myself, but I don't exactly have the prettiest steaks.

So I'm shopping for tools to make the process easier and more professional. Here's the challenge; I'm not looking to open a butcher shop, I'm looking for tools that are going to be used once a year, so I don't want to invest heavily, and I shouldn't need the most heavy duty equipment. I'm looking at things like this from Amazon for $240:

Is it good or garbage? What are some other tools I could use to make my butchering easier and better? Thanks!
Old 12-07-2010, 05:57 PM
Nontypical Buck

I don`t know how many deer you butcher every year but if it is only one or two, I`d recommend this knife instead of the bandsaw.

Called a "carving knive" with different blade lengths, it is great for cutting steaks. The serrated edge helps cut through the meat without sticking. Do this in one stroke and if you can, have the meat semi frozen as this helps in the cutting.

Ron
Old 12-08-2010, 03:31 AM
Giant Nontypical

Try partially freezing the muscle meat your going to cut into steaks for 4-5 hours, not solid, then slice, you'll get professional results.
Old 12-08-2010, 06:34 AM
Spike