Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > After The Hunt > Camp Cooking and Game Processing
Help with a first time processor >

Help with a first time processor

Community
Camp Cooking and Game Processing Trade recipes and other tricks of the trade for cooking wild game.

Help with a first time processor

Old 11-29-2009, 06:39 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default Help with a first time processor

I will be cutting up my deer today, and this is my first time doing it. Dealing with the scraps that I will grnd into burger. I have read that it is easier to grind, when the chunks are half frozen. So that being said, can I just put all the scraps in the freeze for a while, and grind it all up later? I am planning on mixing about 15% Beef Fat with it. Can I just go to the grocery store and buy that from the meat department? Thanks for all your help.
Old 11-29-2009, 06:57 AM
Typical Buck

Its easier if as you go along you remove all the fat, sinew and blue membrain from your roasts AND burger pile. If you don;t you burger will be gamey. I prefer to package my venison chunks and grind when needed. That way if I want to make jerky from my ground venison there is no fat in it. If I want burger I mix it 50/50 with cheap beef burger and re-grind.
Old 11-29-2009, 03:55 PM
Spike

Im not sure about the 1/2 frozen statement - BUT some friends of mine froze the meat because they didnt have tiem to grind it and when the did grind it it made a huge mess.. They had meat particles all over the walls and floor..

i can only assume that being frozen it sorta 'shattered' and went all over the place OR it got watery from being frozen.

Definitely remove any/all the sinew/fat that you can.

Brian
Old 11-30-2009, 02:40 PM
Giant Nontypical