Community
Camp Cooking and Game Processing Trade recipes and other tricks of the trade for cooking wild game.

Jerky?

Old 04-06-2003, 05:31 PM

Default Jerky?

I dont think this is possible, but is there any other way i can cook jerky without a dehydrator? I dont have one anyways. What will i Need and what are some good dehydrators? Also, what are the steps for making jerky dehydrator and any other way. This is my first time, and i want to do it right.
Thanks
Old 04-06-2003, 05:42 PM

Default RE: Jerky?

oh, I will be using this for beef jerky BTW
Old 04-06-2003, 06:35 PM
Giant Nontypical

The first time I made Jerky I used an oven and hung the strips of venison on tooth pics. Foil on the bottom to catch the drips. Oven on the lowest setting, Door open slightly to let out the vapor and have the air circulate. Good Luck
Old 04-06-2003, 07:25 PM

About how long did it take? And what seasoning and ingredients did you use?
Thanks
Old 04-07-2003, 08:28 AM
Giant Nontypical