Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

target panic

Old 04-27-2005, 07:40 PM

Default target panic

i have been bowhunting for a few years, and i have seem to have recently developed target panic. BAD! has anyone had this problem and overcame it? what worked for you?
Old 04-27-2005, 08:12 PM

Default RE: target panic

first off let me say welcome to the board. From what I hear Target Panic is a hard demon to over come. Its one thing I am glad I don't have to deal with, anyways here is a link to a few steps you could try out. Good luck.

http://www.skookumarchers.com/Archer...et%20Panic.htm
Old 04-27-2005, 08:19 PM

You gotta go back to the basics and not worry about aiming. Many, many shots into a blank bale emphasising a nice steady release might be necesarry. I had a semi case of target panic and switched to a back tension release and have greatly improved my accuracy and comfortableness (Word?) with shooting agin.

Good luck.
Old 04-27-2005, 08:52 PM

sorry to hear it. I've had a significant case for probably 8 years now. The only thing that worked good for me was to use a release made by Golden Key called "the answer". If you punch the trigger it locks up and won't release. You can adjust how sensitive it is and disengage it all together for hunting. Worked good for me. Hope you find a solution. Stick with it.
Old 04-27-2005, 09:19 PM
Dominant Buck

First off, everyone has it but some over come it better then others. You said little info in your post as to when you have it but I will guess it was when you were hunting and the deer was in range.