Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Best Release

Old 04-26-2005, 01:29 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Best Release

I am new to bow hunting and I am going out to purchase a new release. The guy at Bass Pro suggeted I purchase a Scott. I kind of liked the, I think it is called the, tru-ball.

Any advice as to which is the best would be great. My criteria for best would probably include accuracy, comfort and durability.

Thanks
Tom

P.S. If it makes any difference I am shooting a Mathews FX at about 29".
Old 04-26-2005, 01:49 PM

Default RE: Best Release

If you have a chance to shoot a few I would but I have to agree with a choice of Tru-Ball. I've shot both the tornado glove and the hunter II and found both to be silky smooth and consistent shot after shot.

I've shot a fletchunter, scott, and cobra and IMHO the Tru-Ball are the best. For the record my back up I keep in my pack is a Scott.
Old 04-26-2005, 02:38 PM
Typical Buck

I've got a tru ball, just went away from it because it was attatched to the strap via a string, but shot it for three years. no complaints. I just bought a scott little goose, and it has a few more things I like about it like being a single caliper as opposed to a double. this way the string comes out of the release the same way every time. I like it alot, but if something happened to it, I'd go right back to my tru ball.
Old 04-26-2005, 02:48 PM

try this one - always right there when you need it, it never fails and its what people have been using for thousands of years

Old 04-27-2005, 10:40 AM

I got a flecher 3d I can't get rid of. It has a flexible strap from the wrist to the trigger so you can tuck it into your sleeve when your climbing in and out of your stand. It wraps around the wrist with velro for a perfect fit

Mongoose releases are similar they are a little smaller and use a buckle type wrist strap.