Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 How good of a shooter to hunt? >

How good of a shooter to hunt?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

How good of a shooter to hunt?

Old 04-01-2005, 05:39 PM

Default How good of a shooter to hunt?

This may be too open ended, but how would I rate my ability as to whether I'm "ready to hunt?"

My neighbor, who had never shot, was invited to in April go on a treestand whitetail bow hunt in Sept. They told him to shoot all summer and he should be able to hit a paper plate consistently at 20 yds. I was doing that from almost my first day, depending on your definition of consistent.

I have been shooting for about four months, and at 20 yds am hitting in a 4 inch diameter about 90% of the time. Every dozen or so has an errant flyer or two. I have no idea how that rates.

It would seem to me that the question would be, what distance can you hit a paper plate "consistently", and use that as your max range.

I am wanting to go with friends or a guide for an elk this fall. How would you say I should rate my shooting to decide if I'm ready?
Old 04-01-2005, 05:45 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: How good of a shooter to hunt?

keep practicing and i think you will be ready .Don't shoot farther than your ability to shoot tight groups
Old 04-01-2005, 06:22 PM

Keep practicing. You're ready....
Old 04-01-2005, 07:53 PM
Nontypical Buck

Your ready. As for your neighbor though he might want to get to practicing. IMO i donno if i agree with that whole your good if you can hit a paper plate at 20 yards. IMO you should hit a silver dollar at that range let alone a paper plate. And as far as your elk hunting trip you might want to extend your range from 20 yards if you havent already.
Old 04-01-2005, 09:04 PM
Nontypical Buck