Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

multiple bows

Old 03-11-2005, 07:46 AM

Default multiple bows

One of my hunting buddies just bought a Switchback, upgrading from an LX. He bought a Blackmax last fall to use as an "out west" bow. Another buddy is also thinking about buying a Blackmax for the same reason. He has an Outback as his primary bow. I understand having a back-up bow in case of an emergency but I think they're gloing a little crazy. Neither one of them is hurting for money so that's not a huge issue. I've been shooting the same Matthews Featherlight for the past 4 years and I'm getting to the point that I shoot so well with it that I would have a hard time letting go. I've never shot another bow along with the Featherlight so I'm wondering, can you shoot two bows consistently? If you shoot one better doesn't it make sense to stick with it? Are there other people out there that shoot different hunting bows for different situations? I don't have the money so I don't have the problem, just wondering what you all think.
Old 03-11-2005, 07:57 AM

Default RE: multiple bows

Guys and bows and tree stands are like women and shoes. Neither can have too many.

If I had the money I'd like to add a PSE Primos to my collection. It would a selfish purchase though with a wife and two young boys at home, considering a have a perfectly good bow as it is.
Old 03-11-2005, 08:02 AM
Nontypical Buck

Sometimes I think I 'confuse' myself--I shoot six different bows depending on the circumstances and mood.
Sore muscles, less poundage, 3D up the poundage, etc.
Takes a few warm up shots when changing from one to the other, but once the peep, nock, etc, is configured almost the same, the bow do what they're asked.
Sometimes it just dosn't go right [:@]---then, like the change in the wind, the situation suddenly improves.
Old 03-11-2005, 12:45 PM