Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 35000 rpm dremel for cutting carbons. >

35000 rpm dremel for cutting carbons.

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

35000 rpm dremel for cutting carbons.

Old 03-02-2005, 10:18 AM

Default 35000 rpm dremel for cutting carbons.

have any of you used a 35000 rpm dremel to cut your carbons? I bought one and am building a jig for it. Most arrow saws run between 5-8000 rpm..Just wondered if 35000 would cut or melt my carbons..thanks for the input.
Old 03-02-2005, 10:37 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: 35000 rpm dremel for cutting carbons.

If you decide not to use that one, you can pick up a saw from Harbor Freight for $20. Mine is on it's way now.
Old 03-02-2005, 10:38 AM
Dominant Buck

Is your Dremel a variable speed model ?

If it is then dial it down to the speed that works best . I'm no expert , but I've seen what speeds that high can do to soft steel . []
Old 03-02-2005, 10:39 AM

I have wondered the same thing. My Dremel is variable speed. I had a cut off saw but it quit working. I thought about taking the motor off and putting my dremel on there somehow. The little cut off discs should cut arrows but I don't know.
Old 03-02-2005, 11:10 AM
Fork Horn

I use the variable speed Dremel and have no problem cutting carbons. One thing that I found I have to do is first cut off an inch or two from the arrow before making my final cut. This is because the cutting disc is not very large and the Dremel unit itself can get in the way when there is too much shaft sticking out.

I turn my Dremel up all the way and never had a problem with melting. I've used this method on everything from carbon Express to Eastons.
Old 03-02-2005, 11:33 AM
Giant Nontypical

ORIGINAL: bige1769

I thought about taking the motor off and putting my dremel on there somehow.