Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 COMPOUND VS CROSSBOW ?????? >

COMPOUND VS CROSSBOW ??????

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

COMPOUND VS CROSSBOW ??????

Old 01-11-2005, 12:23 PM

Default COMPOUND VS CROSSBOW ??????

I am from OHIO and am an avid deerhunter. I've been bowhunting with a Crossbow for about 10 years. I've been wanting to switch to a Compound bow for a while now for a few reasons. My crossbow is loud, heavy & hard to hold steady without a rest. I only feel comfortable shooting at a deer up to 25 yards with my crtossbow.

I feel that a compound is easier to hold steady by the way it naturally anchors itself when you draw. Also, the new bows are very quiet, so jumping the string is less prone & you could get a 2nd shot if you miss - which I do sometimes. I have heard that they are more accurate on longer shots also. Please tell me - AM I CRAZY?????????

I would appreciate feedback from those of you who shoot or hunt with both - Thank you!
Old 01-11-2005, 12:26 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: COMPOUND VS CROSSBOW ??????

Where you from in Ohio?
Old 01-11-2005, 12:52 PM

No your not crazy...put down the xbow and get a compound. You'll be happy you did.
Old 01-11-2005, 12:54 PM

I am from Akron OH - but I own 90 acres in Monroe County. I have had the farm for 3 years and am having a great time managing it for Deer, Turkey & Grouse. There's some fine Deer hunting there....as well as just about anywhere in OHIO.
Old 01-11-2005, 12:56 PM

MO_Bowhnter, Thanks for the response. Did you have similar experiences with a crossbow? Better accuracy, steady hold, etc.
Old 01-11-2005, 12:58 PM
Giant Nontypical

If you do get into shooting a compound send me a PM and I'll show you the ropes of 3-D shooting[8D]

I'm not to far from Akron. I live right near the Ravenna Aresonal, in Newton Falls.
Old 01-11-2005, 01:02 PM