Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 scent lok? best way to keep scent free and working >

scent lok? best way to keep scent free and working

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

scent lok? best way to keep scent free and working

Old 10-16-2004, 07:25 AM
TDH

Default scent lok? best way to keep scent free and working

I have been hunting with scent lok for several years and when I wash them I hang them out side to dry. I have read some where that I have to place them in the dryer to activate the charcoal. If so then want it absorb the human scent in the house? I also store them in a plastic tub with earth scent waffers. Will the suit absorb the earth scent and become saturated with scent? I dont like the dryer scent sheets because if you ever smelt the dryer sheet after use it has a perfume smell. Any suggestions?
Old 10-16-2004, 07:50 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: scent lok? best way to keep scent free and working

It's scientically impossible to get all of the scent out of the charcoal.. Make some HOMEMADE Scent Killer and use it alot..

Thats your best bet..

Scent lok and scent blocker are gimmicks....lol , actually i dont know..

I just use scent killer(homemade), take a shower and wash my clothes in baking soda and keep them outside..

WORKS FOR ME
Old 10-16-2004, 07:55 AM
Nontypical Buck

According to the Scentlock people you need to reactivate the suit by placing it in a dryer for about 45 minutes. The heat causes the trapped scents to release from the charcoal. Some people say it takes several hundred degrees of heat to deactivate charcoal. Your right about the scent wafers filling up the suit. Yours is probably useless as far as the charcoal doing anything...........dabow
Old 10-16-2004, 08:22 AM
Nontypical Buck