Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Shooting a Bow From Stand Question >

Shooting a Bow From Stand Question

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Shooting a Bow From Stand Question

Old 10-05-2004, 12:31 PM

Default Shooting a Bow From Stand Question

Hello, This is my first year hunting with a bow and have a question regarding shooting from a tree stand. I sighted my bow in at 10,20,30, and 40 yards from the ground. If i am up in my tree stand do i have to aim differently if lets say a deer is at 20 yards. Do i put the 20 yard site on the kill zone as if i was on the ground, or do i have change the shot due to being in a stand. Many thanks in advance for the advise.
Old 10-05-2004, 12:35 PM

Default RE: Shooting a Bow From Stand Question

The distances will change a bit but I personally do not aim diffrently. What is most important is your form. Draw your bow and bend at the waist instead of dropping your bow arm down. This will make the biggest diffrence in shooting from a tree. If you drop your bow arm your form will change, anchors have a tendancy to change and the arrow dosn't end up where you want it to.

Hopefuly this will make sence. If not say so and I'll try again
Old 10-05-2004, 12:36 PM

And where are my manners

Welcome to the forum!
Old 10-05-2004, 12:38 PM

I don't aim any differently either.

Welcome
Old 10-05-2004, 12:41 PM
Giant Nontypical

It's the horizontal distance that matters. You can neglect height. So if you draw a right angle triangle and are shooting along the Hypotenuse, ignore the verticle leg and calculate distance on the base.

I shoot ranges with my laser range finder to trees on my height level.
Old 10-05-2004, 12:46 PM

ORIGINAL: Badatta2d