Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Viper vs Cobra?

Old 09-12-2004, 02:05 PM

Default Viper vs Cobra?

Just won $250.00 in a Teaxs Hold-em tourney and am going to buy a climber with the winnings[8D]
I'm leaning toward the VIPER XLS (On sale at local Gander Mountain for $199.00). I would like to use the stand for both Bow and Rifle. My question is does the shooting bar cause a problem while Bow hunting? Is the Cobra a better choice for both sports? Any advise appreciated Thanks.
Old 09-12-2004, 02:18 PM

Default RE: Viper vs Cobra?

I have been using a Cobra for three years now and think it is great. The bar of the Viper looks like it may get in the way if you are sitting or standing with a almost vertical shot. I was sitting in mine last year when an 8 pointer came into view and there was no way I was going to stand up without him seeing me so I'm glad there wasn't a bar in front of me then.
Old 09-12-2004, 07:02 PM
Nontypical Buck

I find the bar on the Viper does not get in my way when shooting a bow. I think you will be happy with either stand though.
Old 09-12-2004, 07:33 PM
Nontypical Buck

I have a viper also, and I dont have a problem shooting my bow out of it. Im short (5'6'') and Ihave a 32 ata bow.

One thing, I do is adjust the seat straps for height. For gun hunting I adjust the straps so I sit lower and I can use the bar for a rest. But for bow hunting, I adjust the straps so I sit higher, so its easier to stand up and clear the bar. Just be careful reguardless.
Old 09-13-2004, 12:16 AM
Nontypical Buck

I just picked up a cobra xls and couldn't be happier. Granted I haven't gotten any real woods experience with it yet, but shooting out of it in the back yard from any angle is comfortable.