Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

PLEASE!!!...!!!

Old 08-09-2004, 12:37 PM

Default PLEASE!!!...!!!

I'm kind of new to bow hunting and I bought some Hang on treestands... I was wondering if any of you had any tricks you use to hang the actual stand or even down to picking a tree or preparing yourself or the stand...??
Old 08-09-2004, 12:50 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Hanging Treestands...

you have a little bit of time still if your hunting private land, go scout first. find some runs and even if you can a junction of two runs. find teh runs that get used more often or show more signs. picking a tree pick one that sets up for a good clean shot to both of the runs. take a ladder with you because nothing is harder than trying to hold your self onto a tree and attach a stand to it one handed. get yourslef a harnbess and anchor yourself to the tree, its just better to be safe than sorry. get yoru self a couple of small wooden wedges because sometimes the tree doesnt set up the way you need it at any perticular level. i personally hunt only about 18' up i dont think there is really a need to hunt higher than that! but that is up to you and yoru preferences. if its private land get yourslef some pegs you can leave in the tree. just mek the steps as far as you can reach apart and take out the bottom one at night when you go home.

i dont know what kinda of hang on stand you have but the ones i have i added soem grippy tape to them. kind of like the scate boards have on them. just adhesive that has really good traction. especially for rainey weather. after that just use yoru ladder to hang em and enjoy yoru time alone in the woods!
Old 08-09-2004, 12:52 PM

Default RE: PLEASE!!!...!!!

THANKS!!! tthats very helpful..
Old 08-09-2004, 01:25 PM
Nontypical Buck