Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 What treestand to use? >

What treestand to use?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

What treestand to use?

Old 02-29-2004, 12:02 PM

Default What treestand to use?

I am fairly new to bowhunting, so I need some help here. I am in the market to buy a treestand for Deer hunting. What do you guys use for your bowhunting? I would like to be able to shoot from sitting and standing positions.
Old 02-29-2004, 01:10 PM
Super Moderator

Default RE: What treestand to use?

You have to decide if you want a climbing stand, chain or strap on portable stand. Will you be hunting several different areas, one area, etc. Climbing stands are great for lots of mobility, lock on portable stands are nice when you will be hunting the same spot several times.

However you decide to go or what your needs are, there are many great stand companies in the market......and there are also a few that I personally just won't use. In my opinion Lone Wolf and Summit stands are two of the best. They both make great climbing stands and portable strap on stands. Lone Wolf user here and looking to adding their Alpha strap on stand to my arsenal before this season.

If you want an open front on a climber for shooting while sitting, I suggest the Lone Wolf Alpha Sit-n-Climb, Lone Wolf Hand Climbing combo, Summit Bushmaster or Summit Cobra.
Old 02-29-2004, 02:06 PM

I forgot to mention I prefer a climber model. I like the Summit Viper XLS Tree Stand, however it has the closed front but that is what I like also (safety and feel more comfortable). I don't think I would be able to shoot from a sitting position though. I'll be hunting over thickets in 2 different areas and may also hunt public land (Maybe?).
Old 02-29-2004, 02:11 PM
Super Moderator