Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
Questions about arrows for a target recurve setup >

Questions about arrows for a target recurve setup

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Questions about arrows for a target recurve setup

Old 04-23-2019, 09:03 PM
Spike

Default Questions about arrows for a target recurve setup

Hey guys, Ive been shooting instinctive/intuitive style archery for 4 years now, I’ve gotten pretty decent and a little while back I saw a sale on an intro target bow, so I bought it and have a little set up for it. I’m just a little uncertain about a few things relating to arrows. The bow is 34lbs (heavy I know) and 66 inches amo I have a 28inch draw. My questions are:
  1. What spine should I be looking for? I found a chart on one manufacturers site saying maybe 750 or higher.
  2. I was looking at a few arrows on Lancaster and their “Olympic style” arrows seem to use points of about 50 grains, is that right? On my trad rig I’m shooting 150s.
  3. What type of fletching is most common? I know I want to use feathers, but what size do I need them? I’m shooting 3x5” on my trad set up but I know I don’t need that much!
Thanks for helping me out!
Old 04-24-2019, 01:57 AM
Fork Horn

I don't know a lot about target archery, I have always been a hunter and shot a recurve and selfbow for many years with homemade arrows.

1. 34# isn't that heavy. The rule was 10# over in spine for a center shot bow many times, but at 34# you may only be 7# or so, maybe 5#.