Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

first one!

Old 10-25-2003, 12:09 AM

Default first one!

Hi everyone,

I finally got a deer with a bow, and want to share the story. It most likely will be long, but hey, you can always press the back button.

I' ve been gun hunting for 30 years. Even when I graduated from college and move out to LA in 88, I would come back to WI for the hunt. I moved back home in 95, and took up bow hunting in 97 (has it been that long, wow). With the exception of a total greenhorne job my first year, I have not drawn on a single deer.

My dad, brother, and I purchased 60 acres, and it is really loaded with turkey and whitetails. Very tough to hunt, a big, thick hill. If I can figure out how to post pictures, I have some rubs that will really impress. Gun hunting has gone great, but with the herd the way it is, not all that challenging. I like to think that my hunting has gotten better as well.

I digress. On to the hunt.

I moved my stand about a months ago. Due to just being busy, I did not get to hunt until last Thursday. On Wednesday evening, we went ' near' our land, and put my brothers stand up. Thursday evening, we went to the stands taking a new approach. Usually, we just walked a logging trail on our land, but that took us too close to a bedding area. I met our neighbor last spring during the turkey hunt, and he gave me permission to use his fields to get to our land. This completely bypassed most of our property, and kept me well away from the bedding area. It was close to a two mile walk.