Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
Need help selecting bow >

Need help selecting bow

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Need help selecting bow

Old 02-28-2016, 04:19 AM
Spike

Default Need help selecting bow

Hi everyone I am new to the sport of archery and I need some advice in choosing a new bow. I would like something simple, accurate and affordable. Light weight would also be a plus. I would use this for target practice and eventually hunting. I have been practicing with an old bear long bow and I doubt I will ever get good enough to hunt with it. There are so many types and manufactures I really don't even know where to start.
Any advice would be most welcome.
Old 03-01-2016, 01:23 PM
Fork Horn

Your best bet is to go to your local archery shop and shoot different bows. I think I can speak for anyone here that saying which bow is best is just what they feel like and what worked best for them.
Old 03-03-2016, 07:52 PM
Spike

Default Bowhunting

There are many very good bows out there. The lightest bows are carbon but they are also the most expensive. I have hunted with Bowtech, Matthews, Bear, Martin and now have a Hoyt Carbon Element. Guy above was right you need to shoot several different bows and get what feels best for you. Check Pawn Shops and Bow Shops for trade ins and pawned bows for a good deal on top of the line stuff.
Old 03-04-2016, 04:22 AM
Spike