Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Arm slap?

Old 10-16-2003, 02:20 PM

Default Arm slap?

So i have been shooting my bow for about 5 years now. I have always had a problem with this " arm slap" but i just figured it was normal. To keep it from bothering me, i just wear a long sleeve shirt...i dont get hit too bad, just nicked by the string.

So what causes arm slap and how can i fix it? I am not sure what my brace height is, and my bow is in my truck now or i would check it out. If form causes it, what parts of form will cause it? I shoot a Hoyt Raider (older bow) if anyone knows where to get the specs on it. Please let me know if you have any suggestions on how to stop this or correct my form.
Old 10-16-2003, 02:27 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Arm slap?

This is caused by poor arm form. Practice rolling your elbow out (pronate
the arm)to where it is parallel to the ground. Or I should say to where the
elbow is pointing out to your side. If the elbow is pointing down, your going
to get slapped. You should be able to flex your arm in the transverse plane.
Or in other words if you bent you arm it should bring your forearm to your
chest. It will feel odd at first, especially after shooting the other way for
5 years. This should cure the problem. You do want to get rid of the arm
slap. Arm slap, even a little, will alter your arrows flight. Once you get use
to shooting with the elbow out, you will probably notice an improved group.

Some thing else to consider is draw length. Too long can cause problems.

Hope this helps
Burnie.
Old 10-16-2003, 02:28 PM