Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
I love Bowhunting >

I love Bowhunting

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

I love Bowhunting

Old 12-12-2013, 08:56 AM
Fork Horn

Default I love Bowhunting

I have been hunting for only 5 years. I started hunting when I moved to Maine. Theres an average of 20,000 +/- deer shot a season including bow and muzzleloader. I started bow hunting 3 seasons ago. I absolutely love it. I haven't shot one yet, but it seems like every season I am learning a lot and getting close. I still have 2 more days left. Even though I haven't shot one with my bow I still really enjoy shooting bow and being in the woods. Today I tried a spot and stalk with the low temps and high winds I almost got a doe. If I only had five more seconds before she detected me, lol.
Old 12-12-2013, 09:11 AM
Fork Horn

Nice dude! Good to hear how much you are enjoying it. Keep at it and your deer will come soon. Nothing like the feeling of drawing your bow on a deer at close range!
Old 12-12-2013, 04:30 PM
Nontypical Buck

Are you in a stand/blind? spot and stalk is less likely to get a kill. I prefer deer blind or tree/ladder/climber stand. Ive popped a couple out of the climber and most others out of blind or popup blind.

Just remember move as little as possible and when you get a deer in range draw when the deer's line of sight is blocked by a tree. Once you are at full draw you can make loud MEEEH to get it stop broadside is best, or quartering away. If broadside shoot just above the elbow. If quartering away aim towards the opposite front leg and take a deep breath slowly squeeze the release.

Good luck and happy hunting!
Old 12-19-2013, 01:25 AM
Spike

Default Bowhunting

Great, i think you are having good skills and knowledge about hunting and you enjoy it. I also like bowhunting as compare to firearms hunting.
Old 12-19-2013, 07:02 AM