Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Stand or Sit

Old 09-20-2013, 05:38 AM
Fork Horn

Default Stand or Sit

I'm new to bow hunting this year, and I'm wondering if I should be standing or sitting once I'm ready to take the shot. I always hunt from a tree stand and my thinking is if I would try to stand up once the deer comes into my area there will be better chance on spooking the deer and it bolting out of my area. Your thoughts??
Old 09-20-2013, 06:06 AM
Nontypical Buck

Depends on the stand you are using. Some with the setup they have are not friendly to shoot from a seated position. Bars getting in the way also you may find taking a shot going around your tree to be impossible.

You have just as much of a chance spooking the deer picking up the bow and drawing seated as you would slowly standing and drawing. It all comes down to being quiet and trying to go as unnoticed as possible.

Also to note most hunters practice shooting from the ground standing. Adding a tree stand to the mix you should also practice shooting from heights to learn the angles and how your shots are just to get the experience. Adding a seated position would say practice that as well. Me and my old neighbor got 2 trees in our back yard we use to shoot from just to practice.
Old 09-20-2013, 06:49 AM
Nontypical Buck

its all on timing...you can sit there and spook a deer...or you can wait till its behind a tree then stand slowly...it basically boils down to if the deer sees your movement or not...
Old 09-21-2013, 05:51 AM
Spike