Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Old 08-05-2013, 08:20 AM
Spike

Default Newbie

Ok, this is my first time that i am really looking at a bow.

I have always wanted one but i was never able to buy one.

So, what I need is help.

Funds are a limited a bit so im looking at about 500, i know that bows

are not cheap. I would like to get a bow for hunting purposes. That's

my main reason for getting one.

If you guys could point me in the right direction for let me know what

to avoid, i would greatly appreciate it very much.
Old 08-05-2013, 11:52 AM
Spike

Most of the bows on the market are good. In the $500 range I would look at the mission line of bows by Mathews. I have one and think they are a great bow in your price range. Find a dealer and handle & shoot several different bows. Go with whatever one fits you the best. If you want to buy used check out the archery classifieds on this forum there are several bows listed in there right now including a Mathews I have for sale.
Old 08-05-2013, 12:05 PM
Spike

I would agree with badlands, go and try a few out. I bought mine online, and although I did a bunch of research and like my bow, I think I probably could have found one that fit me better and was set up better if I spent the extra money to buy it at an actual bow shop. Or you could always go try a bunch and then search for and buy the one you like online, but I would say its important to shoot a few bows so you can get a good idea what your draw length, draw weight, and other things that fit you specifically. As far as what bow to get specifically everyone has different preferences, but PSE seems to make good bows for a reasonable price, but Mathews are really nice too.
Old 08-05-2013, 06:21 PM
Nontypical Buck